Who we are today

Bioretec Ltd. is a medical device company focusing on the development of strong, safe and reliable bioabsorbable and bioresorbable implants for pediatric and adult orthopaedics. Our products are used worldwide, and we continue to further develop materials and products for high load-bearing clinical applications.

We work under ISO 13485:2016 and FDA Part 820.
All our Activa products hold CE certificate and most are also 510(k) cleared by the FDA.


Our mission is to introduce novel innovative, high quality bioabsorbable surgical devices, which improve patient healing, safety and cost-efficiency in clinical care. Ultimately the company goal is to improve the quality of life of people.


The Vision is to become a global player in the development and manufacturing of bioactive and bioabsorbable implants.


Humanity = All our products are developed for improving the quality of life of people. This is the basis for all company operations. All company actions and operations follow high ethical and moral values.

Quality = We are committed to providing its customers with high-quality and safe products and services according to the latest requirements and standards.

Innovation = We position ourself as the innovator and technological leader of the market. Our team seeks constantly for new technologies and solutions that fulfil unmet clinical needs. The entire company staff is engaged in the task of developing and implementing ways to reach the organization's goals.



Bioretec’s roots go back to the 1970's, when Professor Pertti Törmälä started research at the Tampere University of Technology, which resulted in the world's first bioabsorbable implants to be used in orthopedic surgery. In 1985, he established Bioscience Ltd. to manufacture and commercialize bioabsorbable orthopedic medical devices. This led to Bionx Implants Inc. that was successfully listed in NASDAQ New York in 1997. Bionx Implants Inc. was acquired by Conmed in 2003.

The spin-off company, BCI Bioabsorbable Concepts Oy was formed in 1998, and its name was changed to Bioretec Ltd. in 2003.

In 2019 Bioretec Ltd. acquired BRI.Tech GmbH located in Graz, Austria, a company that successfully developed and patented a magnesium based novel biocompatible and bioresorbable metal composition.

Management Team

Timo Lehtonen


Minna Ahlstedt-Soini

Production Director

Lauri Hokkanen

Director, Marketing and Sales

Kimmo Lähteenkorva

Chief Technology Officer

Mari Ruotsalainen

Director, QA & RA

Johanna Salko

Chief Financial Officer

Board of Directors

Tomi Numminen, Executive Chairman of the Board of Directors

Over 20 years of life science industry experience including positions of trust. CEO and CFO positions LAB Pharma, Vivoxid, Corbion, ReBio Technologies and Bioretec Ltd.

Sarah F. Fisher, Member of the Board

19 years of HealthTech / MedTech / Public Health & Convergence experience in global corporate entrepreneurial ventures.

Michael Piccirillo, Member of the Board

Partner at Valugen GmbH medical consulting. Former VP Nuvasive CPD and Executive Director of AO Spine and AO Trauma.

Hans Rosén, Member of the Board

Managing Director at Theradex Oncology. Life science industry veteran, with CEO and Director positions at Abigo Medical AB, Vivolux Inc., Artimplant AB, Diffchamb, aB, Civenta AB and Chromogenix AB.

Pekka Simula, Member of the Board

Currently Chairman of Finnish Bioindustries, Simula was previously e.g. CEO of Herantis Pharma Plc, which he IPO'd in 2014; and Founding CEO of Oncos Therapeutics and its Board member until 2013 merger with Targovax ASA and subsequent IPO. He is also Chairman of Business Finland's Health and Well-being Advisory Board.

Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Med. Klaus Dresing

Over 30 years of experience in trauma surgery and orthopedics. He has been the Chairman of the AO Alumni Association and a member of the AO Trauma International Board with various other positions in AO, AO Trauma, and AO Faculty Education Program.

Prof. Dr. Peter Giannoudis

The Professor and Chairman of Trauma & Orthopedics, School of Medicine in University of Leeds. He is an Executive Board Member of EFORT Trauma Task Force, President of ESTROT and Chair of AO Foundation´s Davos Courses. He has been the President of British British Trauma Society and Chair of the International Committee of Orthopedic Trauma Association (OTA).

Prof. Dr. Fan Liu

40 years of experience from surgical trauma and is working currently as Vice President and as Chief and Professor in Department of Orthopedic Surgery at the Affiliated Hospital to Nantong University. Prof. Dr. Liu is the Vice President of the Chinese Orthopedic Association and the Chinese Association of Orthopedic Surgeons.

Prof. Dr. Rodrigo Pesantes

The Chairperson of AO Trauma Latin America (AOTLA). President of the Trauma in the Colombian Orthopedic Society and trustee of the AO Foundation, and director in multiple AO Trauma courses worldwide.

Prof. Dr. Endre Varga

The Professor and Head of Trauma Department in Szeged, Hungary. He is the founder of ATLS European Committee and Past President of the Hungarian Trauma Society, Senior AO Trustee and Honorary President of the AO Trauma Hungarian Chapter.

Notification settings